One more Christmas story

I know that Christmas was four days ago, but I hope that you have time for one more heartwarming Christmas story. All my friends trapped on the East Coast are a captive audience, at least.

So I am now at liberty to say that six days before Christmas, and just one day after his mother and sister got here for a week-long visit, Rob had to ship off to deal with certain rogue states in the western Pacific. I felt terrible for Rob, but I was delighted to have the company. Rob’s mom and sister were very understanding of the vagaries of navy scheduling, and we had a nice time together doing some low-key exploring: Kamakura, Tokyo, and the food section of the local Lawson’s convenience store, where I am a rather expert guide by now to the myriad flavors of onigiri rice balls and Haagen-Dazs.

 

The one night we were all in the same place.

Chip shows Aunt Betsy his favorite place to put stickers: other people's hair.

 

The family left the 23rd, and thanks to a Christmas miracle that kept the two Koreas from doing everything but actually firing on each other this time, look who walked in the door on Christmas Eve:

 

Chip eats Santa's cookies on Christmas Eve. Note Rob in background.

 

After that, it was your standard Christmas except that 1.) we missed everyone back home terribly and 2.) everything is open on Christmas in Japan! I almost had ramen just because I could, but it just didn’t feel right. Plus I had eaten a lot of Christmas candy.┬áChip was showered with toys by all of you who love him.

 

Chip's new wagon from Grandma.

 

But most importantly this season, I learned the true meaning of Christmas as expressed in the immortal words of Mariah Carey:

“I don’t want a lot for Christmas
This is all I’m asking for
I just wanna see my baby
Standing right outside my door

I just want you for my own
More than you could ever know
Make my wish come true,
Baby, all I want for Christmas is you.”


2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Betsy
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 13:47:30

    What a great time we had! Rob, you were greatly missed but Alden, you are a champion tour guide/entertainer/wonderful to put up with your in-laws invading your home.
    Can’t wait to get back to you guys in March.
    In the meantime, please make sure to keep Chip and any dogs out of the water fountains. They are for drinking.

    Reply

  2. Betsy
    Jan 03, 2011 @ 13:48:11

    Oh, and Mariah has the greatest Christmas song ever. I think we can officially call it a classic now since it was first released in the early 90s.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

